RSS

The Epic Hat of Epicness

10 May

Today has been terribly exciting, what with Mitu going to the hospital (she’s fine) and multiple trips to the drugstore and grocery, but as promised, the story of my recent foray into millinery embellishments.

It all started when Mitu and I adventured to Hobby Lobby to get amigurumi supplies and mini top hats for our costumes for the Steampunk Worlds Fair. Of course, mini top hats are to be found with the doll-making supplies…which just happen to be across the aisle from the dollhouse-making supplies…which include an astounding array of miniature furniture, foods, etc…

Mitu and I are both quite easily distracted by, um, everything, especially if it’s shiny. We spent a good deal of time examining miniature clocks and vegetables and chandeliers. It was the chandeliers that got us–we decided it would be epically awesome to have a hat with a working chandelier hanging from it. That idea was nixed as being far too impractical, but (long story short) we eventually hit upon the fantastical plan of making ridiculously themed hats. Mitu ended up with a Quidditch theme, which turned out amazingly and hopefully she will post about it in her own blog. I decided to go the even more lurid route of Alice and Wonderland.

I should mention that I’m not exactly an expert in the artifacts and lore of Wonderland. I’ve heard the book on tape, and seen Tim Burton’s film adaptation, and am completely in love with Syfy’s Alice (though this may have more to do with Andrew Lee Pots than anything else…). But I’ve never actually read either Adventures in Wonderland or Through the Looking Glass, or, for that matter, seen the classic Disney film. But I knew enough of the more familiar elements to produce this:

The Epic Hat of Epicness.

Ta-da!! Okay, to break it down:

White Rabbit’s pocket watch: pendant charm from the bead aisle
White Rabbit: dollhouse miniature
Queen of Hearts: my own spectacular doodling ๐Ÿ˜‰
Tea Service: dollhouse miniature
Hatpins: long eye pins and beads stolen from Mitu’s stash
Hat label: more doodling. The text is taken from the original text illustrations.
Toadstool: another bead out of Mitu’s stash, which looked rather more priapic than fungal until I painted it…
Caterpillar: blue pom poms
Shrinking potion: dollhouse miniature filled with food coloring and Elmer’s glue
Growing cake: dollhouse miniature

The hat is a miniature top hat for dolls, and I threw in the blue and white ribbon to match Alice’s dress ๐Ÿ™‚ All and all I’m terribly pleased with it, even if it is a tad garish. It’s been quite a long time since I managed to cobble together something quite so effectively. What do you think?

The hat only kind of sort of maybe matches the rest of my costume (more on that at some point), but I think its awesomeness will make up for that. And if I can manage to find one, I’m going to stick a lawn flamingo on the end of a dowel for impromptu games of Wonderland croquet. I should probably learn how to play croquet…

Finally, a photo of the Epic Hat of Epicness on my frighteningly frizzled hair with our distressingly disheveled room in the background:

We're All Mad Here.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on 10.5.2011 in Crafts

 

Tags: , , , ,

3 responses to “The Epic Hat of Epicness

  1. Halias

    12.5.2011 at 9:27 pm

    That is a fantastic hat. Also, IMO you are not missing much by having skipped Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. I fell asleep trying to read it for a class, so… yeah.

     
    • Myriad

      12.5.2011 at 9:29 pm

      Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚ Ha ha, I found it kind of dull to listen to on tape…guess I’ll stick with the films for this one!

       
  2. stormarela

    13.5.2011 at 11:38 pm

    ohh, that is a fantastic.. or umm, “Wonderful” hat. I love it.

     

Leave a Reply

 
