RSS

Flop

30 May

This title is in fact highly ironic, given that I spent the past two days being a most disgusting slug-a-bed and have spent today being considerably more productive. However, the temperature has finally risen as the weatherpeople have been promising, which is good in that I’m no longer freezing all day long, but bad in that I’ve been running around the house and lifting stacks of books and am covered in sweat.

Since I don’t know how long I’ll be living at home (hopefully I’ll get a job for the school year in September, or failing that starting second semester in January…) I’ve decided to rearrange my room and turn it into more of a place adult (and I use the term loosely) me wants to hang out and not the place teenage me got left behind when I went off to school. Since the Great Hulking Man-Creature is home for his reading week before finals, I need to get all my possessions (which should here be translated to mean 50% books, 25% stuffed animals, 15% papers and notebooks, 10% other crap) off the bookshelves so I can employ his Great Hulking Man-Muscles to help me move furniture.

I also have to bully my father into putting the ceiling back in the linen closet (which has been torn up for the past thirteen years) so I can paint it and we can move all of the linens and towels out of my closet (where they have lived for the past thirteen years) and back where they belong. I suspect this will take considerably more effort than convincing my brother to help me move my desk, however.

I also managed to lose members of my family no fewer than three times today when they left the house without telling me, then hid in the blind spots of the yard which you can’t see from the windows of the house. My relatives clearly have no regard for my sanity.

To keep me focused on working and not freaking out because I feel overwhelmed, I always have something playing while I clean, organize, sort, etc. Usually it’s music or podcasts, but after listening to the podcasting panel at the SPWF, I decided to try an audiobook (or podiobook, as it were). I’ve been listening to Quarter Share by Nathan Lowell, which is fantastic. I’ll have to do a post on the series at some point since my head hurts too much to try to do it justice here.

My brain is also in sort of a mental flop after I managed to distract my self for a couple of hours this morning–well, afternoon, but since I’d just gotten up and showered it counts as morning to me–getting waylaid by the blogosphere into several brood-inducing trains of thought. I’m reluctant to return to considering them seriously at the moment, given the magnitude of my headache (and the fact that my father is looming, waiting for me to help him change out the storm windows), so here’s a quick bullet-point list:

Warriors, soldiers, and the military, as occupations and as ways of life, and their role and perception by Paganism, prompted mostly by this post which I found while tag-surfing. The military has always been an uncomfortable topic for me, but one which I should have the courage to face. I hope I’ll be able to post some of my thoughts on things soon.

Faith, community, and motherhood, prompted by a note on The Wild Hunt about the kerfuffle over whether or not Pagan blogs, and this blog in particular, should be eligible for Circle of Mom’s Top 25 Faith Blogs. That other mom-bloggers seek to remove pagan blogs from the list is disheartening, and the outpouring of pagan community support has been cheering. However, I’m always wary whenever anyone says “go support this!” because it leads to mindlessness. I did vote for Confessions of a Pagan Soccer Mom, and one of the other Pagan blogs on the list, but only after reading through several posts to ensure that they were actually noteworthy blogs. I wonder if it wouldn’t do more harm than good to vote a bunch of Pagan blogs into the top slots, regardless of whether or not they were quality blogs. We do have to be wary of how we are perceived.

Finally, housewifery. I’ve noticed that most of the knitting bloggers that I see seem to be stay-at-home moms, and of course after exploring the whole mom-blogging debacle, I’ve found many more housewife bloggers (and encountered something called ‘biblical motherhood,’ which I could not for the life of me find a definition of, but it sounds rather ominous.) It makes sense, I suppose, since while being a housewife (or househusband, rare as that beast may be) is certainly a full-time job, it allows for more of a flexible work schedule than an exterior job since you are in effect your own boss. My own thoughts on the subject are mixed. On the one hand, I believe in the right of people to choose their own lives, and taking care of the house and children is certainly a valid choice. On the other hand, I can’t entirely remove the stigma I’ve gained through osmosis that being a stay-at-home mom is somehow ‘lesser’ than working outside the home. Of course my own mother is a stay-at-home mom, and I don’t think less of her for that…

Aaaaaaand that got way longer than I wanted it to. Time to stop stalling and help with the storm windows, and return to the chaos of my room:

Edit: Have been reminded why I hate changing the windows. Vividly. This is supposed to be the GHMC’s job…

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Flop

  1. Deborah the Closet Monster

    31.5.2011 at 4:46 pm

    On the other hand, I can’t entirely remove the stigma I’ve gained through osmosis that being a stay-at-home mom is somehow ‘lesser’ than working outside the home.
    I was always amazed by my mom’s ability to raise four children by herself, usually with some degree of humor, but I didn’t really consider it work. I think I likened it more closely to a chore.

    After having my son, I had a whole new appreciation for how much work it involved. At the end of my ten weeks of maternity leave, I remember wishing I had more time to devote to my son . . . and being so, so glad to go to the consistent, predictable, scheduled work which felt so unrestrained by comparison!

     

Leave a Reply

 
