RSS

I swear I left my motivation around here somewhere…

03 Jun

Sigh.

So, the PLN was as follows: Every day during the month of June, write 1000 words or more in an effort to finish my NaNoWriMo novel, which only ever made it to 43,000 words (and, I suspect, less than halfway through the storyline. I don’t do short).

What the PLN did not take into account, however, was my propensity for exhaustion. Wednesday it was running around the west side with my overly hyper best friends; yesterday it was driving on the freeway (for the first time…). Both in direct sunlight, and I haven’t been sleeping well the past few nights. And today is my best friend’s birthday, which means no time for writing and another late night.

Whine, complain.

Okay, so I’m making excuses. But it’s hard to stay motivated. NaNo was good for me because between the community and the competition I managed to stay mostly on track (until a minor mental breakdown on the 28th, but that’s beside the point). But now…it’s just me. Trying to find something to do to keep me occupied, and actually finish a draft of a novel. It’s the morning of June 3, and I’ve written precisely 0 words.

I did re-read most of what I had written in November Monday night to refresh myself, does that count?

Last night I did some outlining, how about that?

Awww, why not?

Okay. I do still want to do this (after the birthday shenanigans). But I’m going to need your help (I say this to my audience of, uh…two and a half regular readers?).

I suppose the most sensible thing would be to post what I’ve written each day, because then the hypothetical audience would be more invested in bothering me to write the next bit. But I really don’t want to show anyone the story until the first draft is done. I want to get the bones of the story down before I start tweaking. So I don’t really know what to do, other than to ask for pestering. And if anybody else wants to try to write a thousand words a day to spark my competitive side, that would be okay too…

 
4 Comments

Posted by on 3.6.2011 in Writing

 

Tags: , , , ,

4 responses to “I swear I left my motivation around here somewhere…

  1. Deborah the Closet Monster

    3.6.2011 at 12:34 pm

    You don’t necessarily have to post what you’ve written, but you could try holding yourself accountable by posting word counts and/or a small segment of what you’ve written. I’m happy to pester, FWIW. As an eldest child, it’s in my blood!

     
  2. MituKagome

    5.6.2011 at 8:37 pm

    I’m working on a story currently. I started working on it a couple days ago, and I’m currently at 5K words. Shall we work on this together?

     
    • Myriad

      5.6.2011 at 10:36 pm

      YES. I need a motivation buddy. 1k words a day work for you? Though I’m failing miserably at the mo…

       
      • mitukagome

        6.6.2011 at 4:24 pm

        Sounds good to me I guess … I did nothing yesterday tho.

         

Leave a Reply

 
