RSS

Pentawhatnow?

12 Jun

Today, I compared Pentacost (which is today, apparently) to that one episode of Babylon 5 where Kosh comes out of his encounter suit.

Then I compared the disciples to the Power Rangers and Peter to that one special Ranger who shows up later in the series with the silver/gold/white/whatever Zord, like Zhane in Power Rangers in Space.* (Yes, I watched Power Rangers, and yes, In Space was my favorite. My pre-teen self thought Andros was very very yummy.)

Oh, 1998, how do we ever live without you?

…I think my mother now regrets reading from Acts at the dinner table.

To her credit, Mom has long since given up on converting me back to Christianity, though I think she still secretly hopes I’ll return to it someday. Which is a possibility, I suppose–gods willing, I have at least another sixty years to go–but I kind of doubt it. She does insist that the GHMC and I know the basics of Christian Things, since apparently that’s part of being an educated Westerner. Although how many of you non-regular-churchgoing-Christians know what Pentacost is?

…anyway, I like my version of Pentacost better. Aliens and Power Rangers are way cooler than a bunch of dead guys speaking a bunch of dead languages. And yes, I am occasionally a ten-year-old boy, why do you ask?

*If you got both of those analogies, congratulations, you are probably the only other person on the planet who is a hardcore B5 geek, watched Power Rangers as a kid, and knows enough about Christian mythology to understand all of the references made herein. If you are a male between the ages of twenty and thirty, speak tolerable English, and don’t actually expect me to care about Christian mythology (a Pagan would be nice, but not required), will you marry me?

 
4 Comments

Posted by on 12.6.2011 in Geekery, Spirituality/Paganism

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Pentawhatnow?

  1. mitukagome

    12.6.2011 at 8:57 pm

    What the hell is Pentacost? Don’t answer that, I don’t actually care. I’ll just assume that both of those references are legit. I really can’t remember anything about power rangers, even though I did watch it.

     
  2. tlryder

    14.6.2011 at 8:13 am

    Wow, that’s some top of the line syncretic thinking there! I’ll quiz my kids and see if they know what Pentacost is. I don’t count since I spent the first 18 years of my life in the Roman Catholic church. My kids are young teens, have been pagans since birth, and occasionally suffer through my attacks of “You must learn about Christianity/Islam/Judaism”. I think everyone who lives in the US needs a good understanding of Christianity, for no other reason than spiritual Judo. You gotta have some way to defend yourself from the attack-evangelists!

     
  3. Myriad

    14.6.2011 at 11:16 am

    Ha ha, indeed. Back, evangelists, back! I know the Nicene Creed! (I was raised Episcopalian)

    Our country has a big problem with religious literacy. As you say, it’s important to have a basic understanding of Christianity in the US…I just wish everyone realized that it’s also important to have an understanding about Judaism, Islam, Buddhism, Hinduism, Paganism, and whatever else your next-door neighbor might believe. I have to admit that I’m somewhat lax in this area myself, but I am trying to improve my literacy.

     

Leave a Reply

 
