RSS

Constellation Chorus

09 Jul

Quiz time!

Q: What is an unemployed, would-be science educator to do on a hot Saturday in July?
A: Write a song to help remember all 88 constellations officially recognized by the IAU.

I bet you think I’m kidding.

—–

I can name the constellations,
Heroes and monsters and shapes in the stars;
When I’m making observations,
I know all their names and where all of them are.

First is Andromeda and Antlia,
Apus, Aquarius, Aquila,
Ara, Ares and Auriga

Bootes, Caelum, Camelopardalis,
Cancer, Canes Venatici,
Canis Major, Canis Minor

Capricornus, Carina,
Cassiopeia, Centaurus and Cepheus,
Cetus and Chamaeleon,
Ciricnus, Columba and Coma Berenices

Corona Australis, Borealis,
Corvus, Crater, Cygnus, Delphinus,
Dorado, Draco, Equuleus

Eridanus, Fornax, Gemini, Grus,
Hercules and Horologium,
Hydra, Hydrus, I can see them!

Indus, Lacerta, Leo,
Leo Minor and then Lepus and Libra,
Lupus and Lynx and Lyra
Mensa and Microscopium, Monoceros

Norma, Octans, Ophiuchus, Orion,
Pavo, Pegasus, Perseus,
Phoenix, Pictor and the Pisces

Next is Piscis Austrinus and Pyxis,
Puppis, Reticulum, Sagitta,
Sagittarius, Scorpius

Sculptor, Scutum and Serpens,
Sextans and Taurus and Telescopium,
Triangulum, which is three stars,
Triangulum Australe, Tucana the toucan

Then to Ursa Major, Ursa Minor,
Vela, Virgo and then Volans,
Vulpecula is the last one.

And now that I have named all eighty-eight,
Northern Hemisphere and Southern,
There’s all the stars for me to learn…

I can name the constellations,
Heroes and monsters and shapes in the stars;
When I’m making observations,
I know all their names and where all of them are.

—–

I don’t know whether to be proud or ashamed of myself. The poetry/rhyming leaves a bit to be desired, and I’m not really thrilled with the first/last stanza. Any suggestions? And yes, there is a tune (which I will probably have stuck in my head for the next two weeks) but until I take the time to sit down at the piano and figure it out, all you get is the lyrics. I’d like to tweak the wording some, too, so it’s still very rough. Any suggestions for lyrics/melody would be greatly appreciated!

Inspired by my own quest to be able to name and find all 88 constellations (whee, Sporcle quizzes!) and the following song, though my own attempts at lyricism pale in comparison.

Yes, this really is how I remember the names of all the states.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Constellation Chorus

  1. A. Bates

    11.1.2013 at 1:38 pm

    Is there a way to get the tune to this song?

     
    • Myriad

      11.1.2013 at 2:10 pm

      I don’t have it written anywhere, but I could try to sit down at the piano and make a hard copy if you like. What are you intending to use it for?

       
      • A. Bates

        12.1.2013 at 2:18 pm

        I just have to memorize them for a class I’m taking, but don’t worry about it if you don’t already have it done.

         
      • Myriad

        12.1.2013 at 6:54 pm

        Ah. Oh, fair warning then that this has at least one error that I know of (it’s missing Musca, the fly). I should fix that…

         

Leave a Reply

 
