RSS

I Am Eclectica, Hear Me Roar

23 Jul

One of the pieces of advice I’ve gotten during my job quest is something to the effect of “appear well-read.” Now, my normal literary diet consists primarily of science fiction (when my brain is awake) and romance novels (when it’s not). I was always a voracious reader, and continue to be so, even if the bulk of my reading is constrained to school vacations. But I occasionally worry (because I am capable of worrying about anything and everything; I suppose I must enjoy it or I wouldn’t do it so much) that my taste in books is too narrow.

Then I went to the library today to pick up my holds. Rather a lot of them had accumulated:

This stack is all of the books I have out from the library at the moment. Not pictured are a pair of DVDs which are in fact duplicates/companions to two of the books. The stack is comprised of: three fluffy young-adult novels about Wicca, three fluffy adult action-mystery-comedies, one fluffy adult paranormal-drama-romance en Espanol, one work of Great Literature, two books on astronomy/physics, and a knitting book. (and not one sci-fi or romance novel among them! We’ll just ignore the stack of unread SF and romance books that I picked up at the used bookstore a few weeks back…)

So I take it back. I am not a narrow reader. I don’t know if my taste qualifies as well-read (I suspect the definition of that changes depending on who you ask), but it’s certainly varied enough to qualify as broadly-read. I am Eclectica, hear me roar!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on 23.7.2011 in Books, Geekery, Life

 

Tags: , , , , ,

One response to “I Am Eclectica, Hear Me Roar

  1. Adam

    23.7.2011 at 11:02 pm

    While splitting books into genre is definitely helpful when looking for books, I think the best way to divide books is into two types: books I liked and books I didn’t like. In my blog I wrote that I read mostly Fantasy books, but looking at my tag cloud with the genres of books I’ve read in the past 5 months I’ve read quite a bit from all sorts of different areas. Best of luck getting through your stack of books.

     

Leave a Reply

 
