RSS

Merry Mabon!

23 Sep

I do love the time between Mabon and Samhain, even if the days are getting shorter and the temperatures much colder than I’d like. Also, I have an awesome Mabon playlist. The leaves haven’t started turning much in WI (I miss my technicolor NY Septembers!) so we don’t quite have the Mabon-y mood I’ve been used to the past few years, but it’s still a good time to give thanks for the harvest.

For me, the harvest is my job. I’m thankful to be employed, and thankful to be doing work that is challenging and teaches me new things every day. I’m thankful for my coworkers, who help me be a better educator and mentor (even if I don’t always respond well to the way they point out my errors or misconceptions), and I’m thankful for the kids, who are pretty darn amazing.

My job may be the harvest, but I’m thankful for many other things. I’m thankful for parents who love me and are willing to house and feed me while I work part-time before going back to school. I’m thankful for a mom who listens to my rambling about diffraction and Cerenkov radiation and enjoys the bizarre analogies I use to explain them to her. I’m thankful for a dad who will spend half an hour discussing the potential implications of the discovery at CERN even thought it’s creeping up on both our bedtimes and we should really be asleep.

I’m thankful for a brother who’s smart and funny and really quite sweet when he’s not being a brat (he is my baby brother, after all). I’m thankful for my two best friends who put up with my frequent naps and illnesses and perpetual knitting, who are always there for me and who let me be there for them, and who always have faith in me even when I don’t have it in myself. I’m thankful for my partner in crime, who does much the same, even if it is long-distance these days 😦 (I’ll see you in November, though, right?)

I’m thankful for my Rosie, who is always warm and soft and happy to see me. It is very hard to stay depressed when you have ten pounds of blissful purring curled against you. And I’m thankful for Will, furbrain that he is, for all the commentary and conversations to make the house less empty.

I’m thankful to live in the best city on Earth, whose various communities have welcomed me back with open arms. I’m thankful for my brain, for my ability to see the world from many angles and to draw my own conclusions. I’m thankful for whatever instinctual ability I may have to help others do the same.

And I’m thankful for my creativity, which lets me improvise to make any situation fresh and interesting. Whether I’m trying a new teaching method or solving a logistical problem at the theater, whether I’m designing socks or knitting mittens or writing a novel…I love that I can think in so many ways, abstract and concrete, logical and intuitive. Urania sings, and the universe is mine. (This is now my theme song)

Fittingly, my Mabon altar consists of a basket of yarn, a bucket of colored pencils, and stacks of books which have strongly impacted me in some way. Oh, and my little stuffed hedgehog in a witch’s hat. Because I’m thankful for me, with all of my flaws 🙂

My life is far from perfect, but on the whole it’s pretty good. I know that I have been blessed in my situation and my experiences, and I am so grateful for them. May the Gods continue to bless me, and to bless you and yours as well!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on 23.9.2011 in Spirituality/Paganism

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “Merry Mabon!

  1. MituKagome

    24.9.2011 at 10:26 am

    I must admit, I was a little sad at first to not be deemed a best friend, but I think partner in crime is totally legit. I will definately see you in November!! And we can lock ourselves in your room and type and come up with pages and pages of funny nano quotes to make up for lost time.

     
    • Myriad

      24.9.2011 at 12:44 pm

      You are a best friend, of course (just as J and M are partners in crime) but your status as ex-roommate and fellow blogger/writer/manipulator-of-yarn-whilst-watching-movies makes you the chief Partner in Crime. And yes, we need many, many pages of nano quotes.

       

Leave a Reply

 
