RSS

NaNo11 Back-of-Book Blurb

27 Oct

My name is Catherine Manuela Tecuatl, but most people call me Cat. My abuela calls me Caterina, but that’s only because she’s still mad that Dad let Mom name me Catherine. Which seems like a ridiculous thing to be making a fuss over, but that’s life on planet Earth. Pushy grandmothers with old-fashioned agendas; a father who just doesn’t get it; a mother who wants you to be the best in absolutely everything to make up for the fact that she only had the one kid.

I don’t know that I’ve ever been the best in anything, let alone everything. I get decent grades, and I’m a pretty good swimmer. But mostly I’m your average 15-year-old Earthling: average height, average weight, brown hair, with the occasional bout of acne, boy trouble, and mishaps in chemistry class. Average.

Or I was. Until puberty decided to reveal one teeny-tiny little problem with my genetic makeup. And now suddenly I’m exiled from the entire Solar System, my family’s in quarantine, I’ve become the ward of a foreign government, and I’m off to start the new school year at Noether Academy, 2300 light-years from home.

Abuela did say she would take me off-planet when I turned 15, but I suspect this wasn’t quite what she had in mind.

So here I go. New school, new rules, new planet, new culture. And a new “gift,” courtesy of that teeny-tiny little problem. Sometimes I can read people’s minds…

—–

Still working on figuring Cat out…and the general thrust of the novel…and cheerfully stealing plot devices right left and center from my favorite sci-fi works…but I hope you’re at least intrigued! Still having a heck of a time with a title; going with Earth Girl in Exile for now though I suspect that will change. If you want to join in the noveling insanity, or at least watch and mock me, you can find me under MyriadAstra.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on 27.10.2011 in Writing

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “NaNo11 Back-of-Book Blurb

  1. mitukagome

    28.10.2011 at 8:48 am

    So I was reading your blurb, and I was like, yeah, ok, high school girl, whatever … oh my god exiled from the planet?!? Hahaha that sounds awesome! I really want to read your Nano now!

     
    • Myriad

      28.10.2011 at 11:14 am

      That’s kind of what I was going for…just your usual high-school-girl, blah blah blah, wait what now?! Hopefully the novel will live up to the blurb…

       

Leave a Reply

 
