RSS

Sand and Sky

06 Nov

I’m taking a break from NaNo today. I think I’m finally starting to get somewhere with that whole PLOT thing (plot? who needs a plot?) but I’m going to let it mull a little longer and hopefully tomorrow I’ll have a better idea of where I’m going.

In a related note, Mitu, you need to pester me like woah to make sure I actually keep writing after taking today off…

Since I’m not writing, I’ve been crocheting and knitting–actually I’ve been crocheting and knitting up a storm the past few months, I just haven’t been posting much about my fibrous activities. So I thought today I would share a few of my recent FOs, and gush over one of my favorite designers πŸ™‚

I’ve been participating in the Sand and Sky Creations Patterns group on Ravelry, which does a monthly KAL. It just started up in August, and I’ve been doing it all along. The first KAL was the Yuletide Scarf:

Everyone who finishes their project within the month and posts pictures in the group is entered into a drawing for a free pattern from Sand and Sky Creations, and in August I won! I chose the lovely Hamadryad Tam, which I have not had a chance to make yet but hope to soon! After holiday crafting is done, probably…

September was the Skeleton Key Slouchie Tam, which had been in my favorites forever (as had the Yuletide Scarf). Mine ended up rather larger than I had expected (you know something’s gone wrong when a hat ends up too big for my hair!) but I still love it, and have been wearing it almost constantly since I finished it. Although now I’ve finally bought a cloche so there will be a little variety in my headgear…

Photographing your own head is HARD.

October was the Maritime Wool Socks. I was a little less enthusiastic about this one because they look like rather boring everyday socks…but I actually really enjoyed knitting them. Worsted weight socks knit up so quickly, and I absolutely love the colorway–Knit Picks Swish Worsted in Lava Heather. And they’re so SQUISHY. They’re going to Dad for the holidays, but I am sorely tempted to keep them for myself…

And guess what? I won the free pattern draw again! I’m feeling terribly spoiled, but since I love so many of Simone’s patterns I won’t complain πŸ™‚Β  I was planning on making the Fiona hat for my grandmother for the holidays anyway, so that’s what I’m getting this time around. So many lovely patterns…

I also did a test-knit of one of the upcoming patterns, Skeleton Key Fingerless Gloves to match the SKT. I only knit the one mitt since with my weird thumbs I usually need to make serious mods to glove/mitten patterns, but I LOVE this pattern and will definitely be making a complete set once I a) find time and b) figure out how to accommodate my strange anatomy.

I’ve been doing many more crafty things, but I think that’s enough for tonight. Now back to B5 and holiday knitting…why did I think colorwork mittens were a good idea for half my list? Good thing I got started in October. I think this is the most prepared I’ve ever been for the holidays in my life!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on 6.11.2011 in Knitting

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Sand and Sky

  1. emmiemears

    30.11.2011 at 2:36 am

    This makes me want to learn how to knit. I crochet quite well, but I’ve never had the patience for knitting because crocheting is so much faster for me. But those mittens are glorious, and I wants them, Precious. πŸ™‚

     
    • Myriad

      30.11.2011 at 2:38 pm

      Knitting is a slow craft, but it’s worth it in the end πŸ™‚ If you’re impatient, start with a small project in worsted yarn, like a simple hat, which will work up in a few days.

       

Leave a Reply

 
