RSS

Three really excellent ways to loose steam at the end of NaNo

30 Nov
  1. Experience a three-way collision of hormones, depression, and the severe lack of sunlight in the Northern Hemisphere in late November
  2. Mourn the departure of your partner-in-crime/friendly writing nemesis/personal novelling motivator
  3. Begin reading your writing idol’s newest book, and realize you could never write anything nearly that good

Last year, I made it to 43k, then had a (non-NaNo-related) mental breakdown on the 28th and didn’t write any more. I am DETERMINED to make it this year, and I’m at 46.5k, but considering it’s 11:30 and I have written precisely zero words today…tomorrow may be interesting. In related news, the theme of the week has been “it’s probably a bad sign when you’re counting the days to your next therapy session.” Oh, chronic depression, how I adore you. OH WAIT. NO I DON’T.

So yeah. Limping along here, but I WILL make it to the end. I WILL.

And congrats to Mitu for passing 50k today!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on 30.11.2011 in Life, Writing

 

Tags: , , , , ,

3 responses to “Three really excellent ways to loose steam at the end of NaNo

  1. mitukagome

    30.11.2011 at 12:36 am

    GET YER BUTT TO YER LAPTOP AND GET TO WORK!

    Ahem. Man, I wish I could donate some of my extra words to you. Or at least donate my extra motivation. I’ve got it in spades.

    Just skip to a good part of your story, something fun and exciting, hopefully with a bunch of dialog. That’ll keep you going!

     
  2. emmiemears

    30.11.2011 at 2:22 am

    You can do it! You still have a day left. My locale of choice for NaNo was our local Panera, where I would ingest bottomless coffee with a group of other WriMos and word war our way to the goal line.

    Good luck!

     
    • Myriad

      30.11.2011 at 2:36 pm

      Thank you! I have about 2700 words to go, and despite running around like a crazy person today, I am determined to succeed!

       

Leave a Reply

 
