RSS

Knitstalgia

05 Feb

As I mentioned, I’m doing a test knit for Inge Sandholt (seviri). It’s a lovely pattern and is coming out absolutely gorgeous in my KP Stroll in eggplant. Of course I’m a sucker for anything in deep purple, but these two go together wonderfully.

See what I mean? Totally scrummy. Kindly ignore the cat hair; there is absolutely no point in my trying to remove it until I’ve finished the socks because they’ll only get completely catty again in five minutes.

Between the continuing Mysterious Illness of Blargh and general ennui, I’ve been chugging away, with the result that I have the pair more than half completed in only five days. I kind of want to finish them by the 8th just so I can say I knit a whole pair of socks in one week.

One of the things that’s been fun about knitting these, besides the obvious of a great pattern and great color, is some surprising knitting nostalgia – or should I say, knitstalgia. I knit my first pair of socks almost two years ago in Wales, top-down on a set of plastic 2.5 mm DPNs. I haven’t really used those needles – the first I bought for myself – much since, so it’s really been quite nice using them again on another pair of top-downs (even if they do drive me a tad bonkers…).

It brings back a lot of good memories, like the hiking trip we took in Pembrokeshire, and Jane’s of Fishguard, where I bought the needles and yarn and taught myself to make socks. And breakfast for dinner, and teaching K to turn a heel barely two weeks after I’d turned my first, and singing along to The Lion King with 14 other twentysomethings in our B&B in Caernarfon, and plotting with S to knit socks for the professor’s sons at the Trefriw Woolen Mills. Also memories of breaking my wrist at Tintagel, an injury which still occasionally hinders my crafting…

Basically lots of warm and fuzzy memories of one of my favorite places on Earth, which I was lucky enough to experience with some of the nicest people on Earth. I’d go back in a heartbeat if I could…but for now I’m just going to have to keep knitting socks.

Of course, once I do finish these, I’m actually going to have to deal with the fact that I’m still sick, bored as a blind wallaby in a paper bag, not doing nearly enough to find a job, and generally lying about like a slug rather than living my life. But that is not an excuse to put off finishing these – and I still have a thousand and three WIPs to finish up.

But I think I’ll finish these first.

Yes, I am wearing those over another pair of socks. You really don’t want to know how long it’s been since I shaved my legs. Mysterious Illness of Blargh, remember? I will have to deal with that so I can take some decent eye-candy photos for seviri at some point.

Speaking of which…what fabulous things have you been making?

 
1 Comment

Posted by on 5.2.2012 in Knitting, Life

 

Tags: , , ,

One response to “Knitstalgia

  1. mitukagome

    5.2.2012 at 3:34 pm

    Well I am currently making Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcakes: http://www.perrysplate.com/2010/05/chocolate-chip-cookie-dough-cupcakes-fondant-firsts.html

    Hopefully they will be delicious!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
