RSS

A Bad Case of the Parentals

07 Mar

“How about we don’t add that to the list of things I’ve been lectured about today?” she replied with a smile that was more a baring of teeth.

There are many wonderful things about living at home (namely, having parents who love you and are willing to support you when the economy sucks and take care of you when you’re sick and cook you food and…)

However, there are just as many not very wonderful things that come along with that. Mostly, feeling like a grouchy teenager all the time because your parents still talk to you like you were a teenager, which makes you grouchy. Worse, they’re usually right.

Sigh.

It’s usually not too bad, but sometimes there are days when there’s a conspiracy to turn every conversation into a criticism or a lecture. Today it was my job search, my job search, my high school friends, my extracurriculars, and my job search. I haven’t been in high school for five years; I haven’t talked to any of my crazy (seriously, deep-psychological-issues crazy) friends for almost three years. And you’re lecturing me about this now, why, exactly?

To be perfectly honest, the thing about high school actually really hurts. I don’t particularly want to keep in touch with a lot of the people I hung out with back then, but I don’t have a lot of regrets about my life, despite all the crazy in it. It’s not a good feeling to know that my parents do regret my life.

The other things are more annoying because I know my parents are right. But getting a lecture from them mostly just serves to make me mad at them, mad at myself, and generally so wound up with anxiety and rebellion that it’s hard to actually work on, say, finding a job. Which is strange, because I work better with deadlines, and when I’m accountable to someone. I guess I just don’t do so well at being accountable to my parents. But then, who does,especially once they’re into their twenties? I HAVE A DEGREE IN FREAKING ASTROPHYSICS; STOP NAGGING ME.

Okay, so I’m basically just venting, because, like I said, grouchy teenager. Any suggestions on how to put the grouchy teenager back in her cage where she belongs?

 
1 Comment

Posted by on 7.3.2012 in Life

 

Tags: , , ,

One response to “A Bad Case of the Parentals

  1. Dea-chan

    9.3.2012 at 1:55 pm

    Hmm… K’s sis here just fyi.

    Perhaps you could consider setting up your schedule in a “work-like” manner. E.g., get up at 8 or 9, have breakfast, apply for jobs, have lunch, do some exercise, knit, y’know… just actually schedule out your day. So that you’re clearly well aware of what you’re doing daily (and the parentals are clearly well aware that YOU’RE well aware etc etc), and it can help ground you when they start being nags.

    I’m not particularly good at dealing with the “treating me like a 13-year-old” typical of parents either. Just ask K how many fights Mom and I get in every. single. time. I’m. home. I particularly love her brand of “Well you f*ed up here, so you’re clearly not capable of getting yourself out of a mess that you’ve made and if you attempt to do so I’ll mock your choices loudly and at every occasion”.

    Good luck — parents will figure it out eventually. Hopefully…

     

Leave a Reply

 
