RSS

Just Disoriented

20 Mar

I’ve been trying to think of what to do for my next post. But with all the chaos, both meteorological (It was 84 today. In March. IN WISCONSIN.) and emotional, the menu has turned out thusly:

Appetizer
Parental Meddling with three dipping sauces: Paternal Obliviousness, Maternal Guilt, and General Overextension of the Family

Salad
Market fresh I’m Not Crazy – I Work With Kids! tossed with Iambic Pentameter, Conservation of Momentum, Cuban History, and Paperwork, drizzled with our signature And Yet I Still Love It dressing.

Entree
A disturbing melange of Frustration and Euphoria served on a bed of Hysteria, garnished with broken bits of All the Hoops Wisconsin Wants Me to Jump Through to get my Teaching Certificate. Served with a side of What Is Wrong with America in General and your choice of I Don’t Even Believe My Cover Letter Any More or Who in the Hell Designed This Website?

Soup
I Really Hope I Don’t Run into Any of My Students at This Bar

Second Course
OWW My Wrist Hurts tossed with Too Much Knitting and Lighting Fast Grading

Desert
So, I’ve Been Reading about Transgender Issues…

—–

So, yeah, I think we’ll just skip all that. Not terribly appetizing, for the most part. Instead I will direct you to Culturally Disoriented, the new blog of the fantastic CD with whom I went to high school. She is much more eloquent than I could hope to be (although reading her blog did inspire that bit of craziness up there, for whatever that’s worth), not to mention extremely smart and aware. Look, just go read it already. It’s not like I’ve got anything left to say. What are you still doing here? GO. Sheesh.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on 20.3.2012 in Geekery, Life

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Just Disoriented

  1. C.D.

    5.4.2012 at 11:13 pm

    Ahhh! I just realized (by looking at my wordpress stats) that you had referred people my way, and I came to read the post. And now I’m blushing (it’s not my fault! you called me eloquent! I always blush when people call me eloquent!). But thank you so much – it means a lot, coming from you. And for the record, I love this post. Particularly the entree section. And I would choose the “I Don’t Even Believe My Cover Letter Any More” as my side order… it sounds like such a familiar dish.

    I was going to reply more coherently than the above comment, and then I re-read the post and saw this: “(It was 84 today. In March. IN WISCONSIN.)”

    My brain just melted. EIGHTY FOUR? Doesn’t it usually snow in March? I haven’t been away from Wisconsin for that long… have I?

    EIGHTY FOUR?

     
    • Myriad

      6.4.2012 at 9:38 am

      You are very welcome 🙂 I’ve always been impressed with your writing, ever since the good old days…

      Yes, it usually does snow in March. The weather here has been, uh, special. To quote another blogger: “March. In like a lion, out like a rabid squirrel in a meth den.” At least it’s back down in the 50s now…

       

Leave a Reply

 
