RSS

FO: A Girl Named Fred

25 Mar

Hey look I made a pretty.

My version of Fredrika, knit on smaller needles in the ridiculously pink Lotus colorway of KP Swish. They actually fit amazingly well, although the combination of ribbing and the denseness of the fabric is probably making up for a lot of my usual fit woes – stiff fabric = less bagging and sagging and general sloshiness. Yes, sloshiness. I’m still working on that whole ‘negative ease’ thing.

It really is a lovely pattern, one which I’m sure I’ll knit again at some point. The heel construction was unusual but effective, and doesn’t look too ridiculous on my feet o’ doom even though I didn’t do any of my usual heel/gusset mods. I also learned a new and exciting way to do wrapped short rows which looks so much neater than the way I’ve been doing them.

Unfortunately I’m still having issues with gaping stitches when I switch from knits to purls, which gave me a lovely (sarcasm) line of holes along one side of the heel and not the other. This is especially distressing since I really want to take another go at that sweater I frogged a while back, which was suffering from the same problem. Sigh.

I think I’ve figured out a way around it, which is to just knit straight through, then drop the stitches that should have been purled and rework them as purls, thus deleting the extra yarn that’s causing the gaping stitches. The question is, do I really have the patience to do that?

Eh, I’ll worry about it next month. For now I will bask in the glory of my delightfully gender-bending new socks.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on 25.3.2012 in Knitting

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “FO: A Girl Named Fred

  1. mitukagome

    25.3.2012 at 9:18 pm

    Picture number 2: first thing I see is that one long white cat hair. Then I noticed the lovely pink socks.

     
    • Myriad

      25.3.2012 at 10:25 pm

      Yeah, she’s been helping. And I was too lazy to de-fur the socks before photos.

       
  2. whoopscareless

    26.3.2012 at 2:15 am

    Ooh, those look fab! Great work!

     

Leave a Reply

 
