RSS

Nerd Wars T4 Round 2

06 Apr

Round 2 has been over for almost a week, but what with the traveling and the shenanigans and the screaming children on the trains, this post got delayed. BUT I melted the cube again this round, so here’s what I’ve been up to. I’ve already posted about some of them so you just get the tie-in for those, with appropriate linkage.

GIVING GEEKS: WOMEN OF OUR TIME I broke tradition here and made a donation rather than crafting something. I just didn’t have the time, but given all the hoopla about ultrasounds and the like the past few weeks, I thought a donation to Planned Parenthood would not go amiss. Tie-in: Delenn’s pregnancy.

TECHNICAL: THE SCRAP HEAP More granny squares from scraps of various ages. They are PURPLE (plus the two colors that make PURPLE) because our TUP this round was to make something green or PURPLE for the Drazi Civil War.

INTELLECTUAL: TO ART ITS FREEDOM The challenge was to do something based on Klimt’s work or the Art Nouveau movement. I adore Klimt, although after three summers in Vienna I kind of want to destroy anything with The Kiss on it. So I took my inspiration from a piece of the Beethoven Frieze and made some more granny squares. They’re orange in honor of the vampy Lasciviousness from the painting, as well as the uber-vampy Lyta Alexander from B5, and my favorite sexy carrot-top:

SCIENTIFIC: DIFFERENCES MATTER This challenge was a bit confusing, but basically we were supposed to choose a (non-organic) material from another nerddom and then tie it back to our nerddom and make some thing pretty. I chose the crystals used for data and computing in Stargate and the data crystals of B5 and made this lovely hat with facets.

GEEK PRIDE: BARE BONES I chose the sissy villain trope and made a pair of delightfully pink socks for our favorite mad emperor Cartagia.

NERD CULTURE: SIX DEGREES OF KEVIN BACON Good old Stephen Furst (AKA Vir Cotto) has a Bacon Number of 1, and I made him a pair of stripey socks to match his stripey jackets.

That’s it for Round 2. R3 is already in progress, so expect more pretty FO pictures soon!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on 6.4.2012 in Crafts, Geekery, Knitting

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “Nerd Wars T4 Round 2

  1. mitukagome

    6.4.2012 at 9:45 pm

    You know I’ve got a Bacon number of 2, right?

     
    • Myriad

      6.4.2012 at 10:35 pm

      Really? And why do I feel like this has something to do with Allan Maca?

       
      • mitukagome

        7.4.2012 at 10:55 pm

        I doesn’t, actually. I met Ben Stein. He was technically in a movie with Kevin Bacon.

         

Leave a Reply

 
