RSS

A Miracle of Biblical Proportions

15 Apr

…is what it will be if I ever finish this @#$%^@!*&^%!@# project.

It started out so well.

The pattern is Hub of Fashion by Stephanie van der Linden, from the sock book I got for Christma-hannu-yule-uka. It’s knit sideways, so I knew it would be a challenge. And because I’m smart enough to read others’ project pages, I knew the fit of the ankle would probably be way too baggy. So I made some mods I thought would be good. And they were. The socks would have fit wonderfully…but the inelasticity of the stitch pattern meant I wouldn’t be able to get the leg up over my instep.

So I grit my teeth and had a little date with Felton.

Sigh. I’ve become enough of a perfectionist about my knitting that I am willing to frog rather than make something crappy, but it’s still painful to tear out all those hours of work. Even if I do get pretty tangle pictures out of it.

I’m probably the only knitter in the world who thinks the post-frog crinkly yarn tangle is cool.

Anyway, I did not give up. I decided that I probably wouldn’t wear these anyway, but J. would, and since her legs are a little bigger than mine maybe following the pattern as written would work well (she has my freakishly high instep, so the wider leg is needed). So I followed the pattern and ended up with a tube of a sock that really doesn’t fit right. Basically the sock reaches its largest diameter at the heel and then stays there, with nothing significant in the way of ankle decreases.

Not to mention that I messed up my kitchener-ing (which took about three hours, by the way) so the chevron pattern doesn’t match up right, and I need to tear it out and start again.

AAAAAAAAAAAARRRRRRRRRRRRRRGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH.

I don’t really know what to do at this point. Mostly it’s just put me in a really foul mood. Should I persevere? Should I frog yet again and do some more tinkering for a better fit? Should I put it into hibernation for a few months? Should I just give up and take a scissors to the @#$%^ thing? Not gonna lie, right now I feel like option 4, but really, what else am I going to do with this yarn? It looks decent in this pattern, but I’m pretty sure this is the only pattern in existence that saves it from utter atrocity. (The first picture, taken in natural light, shows the colors at their most attractive. I love the Germans*, really, but their color pallets often leave a bit to be desired.)
*piano* The long and winding road…that leads…to incoherent screams of frustration…

(Apologies to Paul McCartney.)

I need some help, y’all. What do I do with this @#$(^%%#$&^&#$*(*% thing???

*The yarn is Regia Design Line Kaffe Fassett. Regia is a German company, with the colorways to prove it…

 
2 Comments

Posted by on 15.4.2012 in Knitting

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “A Miracle of Biblical Proportions

  1. mitukagome

    15.4.2012 at 8:21 pm

    Speaking of piano, have you watered that poor thing yet?

     
    • Myriad

      15.4.2012 at 8:28 pm

      The tuner came by this week, so yeah, it got watered. It’ll probably be thirsty by the next time you visit…

       

Leave a Reply

 
