RSS

11 Jun

I’ve been trying to restrain myself from reblogging C.D.’s posts because otherwise I’d just reblog 95% of what she writes, which seems a little silly. So instead I will tell you to GO READ HER BLOG ALREADY, starting with this post which describes a childhood eerily similar to my own.

Culturally Disoriented

[This post is a companion piece of sorts to my “How Power Rangers Made Me a Feminist” post, although you don’t need to have read that post to read this one. In the Power Rangers post, I discussed how sexism in TV shows had a negative effect on me growing up, while in this post, I discuss how the awesome books I read when I was a kid had a good effect on me as I grew up. You see, I don’t hate everything! Just the terrible stuff]

***

I never wanted to be a boy.

And it turns out, that’s somewhat of an unusual experience.

***

Back during my finals season (*shudder*), a series of interrelated blog posts penned by female speculative fiction authors went up. First it was Stina Leicht. Then Kate Elliot. Then Kirstyn McDermott. and N.K. Jemisin. There are probably…

View original post 2,499 more words

 
2 Comments

Posted by on 11.6.2012 in Life

 

2 responses to “

  1. C.D.

    14.6.2012 at 3:39 pm

    You spent your childhood burying barbies in the backyard (wow, alliteration) and practicing side kicks against the family oak tree? I thought that was just me!
    On a more serious note: thank you. I really appreciate it. In a gooey appreciative way (I don’t know what that means either. I’m seriously undercaffeinated right now).

     
    • Myriad

      14.6.2012 at 6:47 pm

      You are very welcome. And I appreciate the gooey appreciative-ness in a gooey way. Help, now I’m stuck to the keyboard!

       

Leave a Reply

 
