RSS

The Birthday Project GIVEAWAY!

11 Jun

My birthday falls around the Summer Solstice, and both are coming up soon. Unfortunately the celebratory forecast is rather grim; my father’s in Spain and my three best friends/partners in crime will all be in different states, none of which are WI. I tend to be rather lazy in my birthday plans (in fact, they’re usually nonexistent until the day itself), which usually leads to a lot of glumness. But this year I have decided that I am an adult, godsdamnit, and I will have fun on my birthday all by myself!

There are two parts to my masterful plan (well, actually there are more, but only two relevant to the blogosphere): The Birthday Project and The Birthday Giveaway.

Giving people things makes me happy. Getting things makes me happy, too, but I like brightening up someone’s day with a random gift they weren’t expecting. I don’t do this nearly enough, so I’ve decided to do it for my birthday.

THE BIRTHDAY GIVEAWAY

To celebrate my birthday, I will be giving away patterns on Ravelry. I have none of my own published (yet), but Rav. has a handy gifting feature that lets you buy patterns and send them to others. I will randomly choose one or more people who enter the Giveaway and send them a pattern from their Rav wishlist. Yes, that’s right – you could wake up one morning to find that pattern you’ve been secretly lusting after waiting in your Ravelry library!

To enter the Giveaway:

  1. You must have a Ravelry account.
  2. You must have a wishlist on Rav. If you don’t know how to create a wishlist, click here to find out.
  3. Leave a comment on this post with your Ravelry username and something that makes you smile.

The deadline to enter the Giveaway is 12:00 PM UST on 18 June 2012. The winner(s) will be announced on Litha (the Summer Solstice, happening on 20 June this year).

THE BIRTHDAY PROJECT

Surprise! By entering the Giveaway, you are automatically participating in The Birthday Project. If you don’t want to enter the Giveaway, you are still more than welcome to participate in The Birthday Project. All you need to do is leave a comment with something that makes you smile.

Basically, since I’m going to be mostly alone on my birthday, I want some positive energy. A birthday is a celebration of LIFE – and so is Litha, for that matter – so I want to spend it doing the things that make life worth living. So I’m asking you to tell me one thing that makes you smile. It could be as simple as the color green or as complicated as drinking hot chocolate in a ski lodge in the Swiss Alps – just something that makes you feel happy and alive.

On my birthday, I will look at the resulting list and try to experience all of the things you tell me in some way. (Admittedly this may require some creativity; instead of hot cocoa in the Alps I may have chocolate ice cream and see if my iTunes has any songs about mountains.) So help me have a happy birthday and leave a note (and your Rav handle, if you want to enter the giveaway) in the comments. People of the Interwebs, I am counting on you to make my solitary celebration fantastic!

 
21 Comments

Posted by on 11.6.2012 in Life, Spirituality/Paganism

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

21 responses to “The Birthday Project GIVEAWAY!

  1. Camilla/ciellel

    11.6.2012 at 10:29 pm

    Things that make me smile-

    Unexpectedly encountering a friend that I have not seen in a while

    Rainbows after a an afternoon of rain

    The play of light through colored glass

    The sound of a cat’s purr

    Successfully completing a new technique in my knitting or crochet

    Weaving in the last end of a project

    Myriad- I hope you have a wonderful Birthday that is full of things that make you smile

     
  2. thatbeccaperson

    11.6.2012 at 10:44 pm

    Awww! Happy Birthday! I know this is going to sound lame, but ever since I discovered the new version of My Little Pony, watching the episodes make me smile and laugh and feel happy.

     
  3. Catnipsandwich

    12.6.2012 at 1:35 am

    Stuff that makes me smile:
    Looking at a finished knitting project and thinking “I did that”

    (I don’t think I have a wishlist, I just wanted to make you smile!) x

     
  4. thekrazysheep

    12.6.2012 at 5:37 am

    Happy Birthday!
    Things that make me smile: dyeing the perfect yarn, my boss telling the perfect joke, my cats sleeping upside down, sunny afternoons in the backyard, finishing a complicated project – or a quick one.
    Rav name is the same as everything else – thekrazysheep and I stumbled on your invite in the NWModSummit board. πŸ˜‰

     
  5. Stitchin-Liz

    12.6.2012 at 6:19 am

    Things that make me smile:
    Knitting/crocheting/spinning
    A brand new skein of yarn or ball of roving
    The fact that you’re doing something so nice for other people on your birthday!

     
  6. AlterLace

    12.6.2012 at 6:49 am

    Happy birthday!

    Things that make me smile:

    Listening to Owl City’s “Fireflies”

    hanging out with my rav friends

    the smell of fresh baked bread

    feeling up my yarn stash, especially the special skeins that are waiting to be turned into something amazing.

     
  7. MamaCat

    12.6.2012 at 7:00 am

    Happy Birthday! My birthday was just a few days ago, and I still can’t wrap my head around the fact that I am now over 50. But anyway, here are some things that make me happy … and I hope you get to enjoy as many of the things that make YOU happy as possible on your birthday!

    1. Snuggling or playing or otherwise just spending time with my pets. Even when they are annoying, they still make me happy.
    2. Baking a treat.
    3. Watching a favorite movie. With popcorn.
    4. Starting a new project – taking that “special” yarn or fiber out of the stash and finally start working on it. Regardless of how many other things I already have going – just letting go of the guilt and enjoying my stash is always a boost.

    I am giving you my name just because I want you to know I am thinking of you, but no need to put me in your drawing. Enjoy your day!!

    MamaCat

     
  8. peppermintmochamama

    12.6.2012 at 8:14 am

    Yay for positive spins on potentially negative situations!! I love that bit of pixie-dust in you. As far as what makes me happy, let me think…

    – kids laughing
    – people watching
    – Peppermint Mochas
    – going for a photo walk (a walkabout with my camera)
    – a nap

    I hope your birthday is full of things that make you happy. I’ll be thinking about you and sending up some wishes just for you.

     
  9. LidiDi

    12.6.2012 at 10:00 am

    This is so sweet!

    I love time with friends…you know, when you just sit and chat and feel like you have all the time in the world even though you really only have a few hours.

    Hot tea.

    Gardens.

    Sunrises/sunsets.

    Dark chocolate.

    That feeling when you figure out a new technique, sit back, and smile at the product.

    ~LidiDi (Rav ID is the same)

     
  10. Rainy/Rainyt

    12.6.2012 at 11:02 am

    What a wonderful birthday plan! Thank you so much for including us all in it with you. Lots and lots of good solstice and birthday energy coming your way!

    Things that make me smile are knitting with a view of water, knitting while listening to a great book on the CD player, and falling asleep to the sound of cat’s purring.

     
  11. nikky Johnson

    12.6.2012 at 11:20 am

    Happy Birthday!!!!’
    Things that make me smille:
    Hummingbird at the feeder
    Chipmonk squeeking outside the window for food
    Cats curled around each other like a ying and yang
    Joy of a sunrise
    all these and more for you each and every day
    Nikkynmaine

     
  12. LadyKatka

    12.6.2012 at 12:46 pm

    Happy B-day

    Things that make me smile

    – my silly little dog
    – stupid stuff my DH says
    – sunshine

    Rav Name: LadyKatka

     
  13. Affienia

    12.6.2012 at 1:16 pm

    Firstly this is a fantastic project. I hope your birthday is epic!

    The things that make me smile are
    the sound of the ocean
    A comfy chair and a good book
    dancing

    Rav name – Affienia

     
  14. blackpebble

    12.6.2012 at 2:48 pm

    What a wonderful project! I hope you have a truly HAPPY birthday!

    Things that make me smile include: fresh-baked chocolate chip cookies, cherries, purple yarn, and several hours to knit uninterrupted.

    RavID: blackpebble

     
  15. eyeamelise

    12.6.2012 at 3:18 pm

    Birthdays can be tricky like that, eh? Mine’s in the middle of winter, so it is easy to get the blahs. This year in an attempt to battle the Great Dissapoint, I made about a million cupcakes and brought them to my favorite pub, so everyone who works there got cupcakes for always being so good to me.

    So, things that make me smile? funfetti cupcakes. Tom Waits. Being remembered. Being told I am pretty even when I don’t feel pretty. Batman Returns with Michael Keaton and Danny DeVito. The way breezes off the ocean smell and how cool they feel in my nose. The Star Talk Radio podcast. PMs from people saying that Nerd Wars is great.

     
  16. MRPP

    12.6.2012 at 3:54 pm

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!! What a fabulous way to celebrate.

    Lots of things make me smile, but here are a few off the top of the list…
    – all the silly antics our cats get themselves into,
    – just about EVERYTHING our rabbits do (they’re just that cute),
    – the amazing cappuccinos my DH makes,
    – a snack with melted butter and/or melted cheese on top,
    – a fizzy drink,
    – a favorite novel on audiobook,
    – the slow movement of anything Mozart ever wrote,
    – Nerd Wars, and especially our beloved Team Rangers.

    And discovering how to create a wishlist on Rav. That last one was your doing. HAPPY BIRTHDAY again!!

     
  17. StrangeKitten38

    13.6.2012 at 10:43 am

    Happy Birthday! May your day be filled with at least 10000 stars! They’re always there after all. πŸ™‚
    Things that make me smile… Hum.
    – Music to dance to and friends to dance with.
    – Hearing a favorite song unexpectedly.
    – Learning something new and weird and cool all at once!
    – Chatting with others who “get it”, whatever “it” is at the time.
    – A child’s laugh.
    – Flowers!
    – Colorful yarn.

     
  18. hhibbeler

    13.6.2012 at 3:43 pm

    Happy Birthday!

    Things that make me smile:
    -Toddlers mastering a new word, because their words are so awesome: today my son’s was “peephole” which is “purple”. The best ever was when he learned the word “fox” but couldn’t pronounce the “x” as “x” so he pronounced it as “k”. Sound it out in your head. Said that one several dozen times, to grandparents and all. πŸ˜€
    -Babies flashing gummy grins, especially when dribbling milk
    -The way dog fur smell when they’ve been sleeping in the sun
    -Iced Chai Lattes
    -Jumping into a lake early on a summer evening when you’ve spent the entire day out in the sun
    -Riding on the rail of a pickup truck as it bounces along a dirt road (please don’t try this on a public road if you live in the United States, it’s not worth getting a ticket. But if you know someone who owns a farm and you trust them behind the wheel…)

     
  19. mtnikolle

    14.6.2012 at 7:39 am

    Happy Birthday! (you know, early)

    Things that make me smile:
    – yellow
    – sunshine
    – seeing my nieces
    – a student who asks a good question
    – a good book
    – when I get to sleep in

     
  20. Ildolcesuono

    14.6.2012 at 12:33 pm

    Happy Birthday!!

    Things that make me smile:

    * Kitty purrs
    * Ladybugs
    * The Gummi Bears Theme Song
    * The smell of honeysuckles
    * Sidewalk chalk drawings

     
  21. Ria Frazier (@tonyfan4ever)

    17.6.2012 at 3:56 am

    Happy Birthday!!

    Things that make me smile:

    -The expressions on my daughter’s face when she talks – you can almost know what she’s saying just by watching.
    -That first rich dark cup of coffee in the morning.
    -My “catphew” (I can’t have a cat currently)
    -The perfect bite of chocolate
    -Getting home to a package of yarn on my doorstep
    -Tony Stewart winning a race
    -Tony being interviewed when he’s being happy and has that spark in his eyes
    -The 49ers winning
    -The Devils winning
    -Picking a ripe tomato from my garden
    -Having one of my favorite drivers show up with my stuff n their trucks at work
    -Having the best stats at work
    -Seeing any of my friends
    -hugs from aforementioned friends

     

Leave a Reply

 
