RSS

Better than Therapy

22 Jul

Today has been a Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day. And this made it all better:

“Really, Daav,” he told himself, his voice muted by the wooden walls, “you might have had a better result from Shan.”

Alas, that his small nephew had been abed just when his advice had most been needed.

Quotation is from page 2 of Mouse & Dragon by Sharon Lee and Steve Miller. It occurs to me that it’s probably funnier if you’re familier with Daav yos’Phelium and Shan yos’Galan, but still.

Somehow that second line epitomizes everything that is wonderful about the Liaden books. It’s too late to do a proper post on the series now (translation: I want to get back to my book!), but I’ll get to it at some point. Just believe me when I say they’re more than worth the read. They’ve gotten me through everything from menstrual cramps to relationship drama to serious depression.

Daav and Aelliana (Cover detail from Mouse & Dragon)

I swear, these books are better than therapy.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 22.7.2012 in Books

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
