RSS

FO: Fishguard Prototype

21 Aug

I’ve been making use of the Nerd Wars R3 UFO/WIP challenge, and finally finished the prototype for Fishguard (AKA Design #2). I still need to make a full pair, with some tweaks to the design, but I think I figured it out well enough to mostly know what I’m doing. The fit isn’t perfect, but a lot of that has to do with my extremely weird feet. On a flat-footed person I’m sure they’ll look fine 🙂

I think the keyhole is a bit large on this one, and the sock itself could stand to be a few st smaller, too. I’ll trim the st count a little and join the keyhole sooner. I may also work the heel off-center to line up the keyhole since my feet are very triangular; again, on a flat-footed person, that shouldn’t be a problem.

See how the keyhole is wandering? And definitely too big on my tiny feet.

Not sure how to incorporate all of this into the pattern, but I can sense that this is going to be a persistent problem for me. When I design something, I design it for my feet, because I want to wear them – but my feet are far from average. So trying to translate something that works on me into something that works on everyone else is sometimes a problem. Especially with this design, where I’ve had to do a lot of fiddling to get the keyhole to sit right and the tension on the sides to keep it from buckling unattractively. I was hoping to publish this as a for-sale pattern, but we’ll see if I can make the notes coherent enough that I feel confident charging people money 😀

What do you guys think? Would you want to make a pair of Fishguard socks?

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 21.8.2012 in Knitting

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
