RSS

The STARGHAN Lives!

24 Aug

Okay, frogging it all was EXTREMELY painful. But, just a week and a half later, I have caught myself up! The STARGHAN is now bigger than it ever was. It’s big enough that people have stopped asking me if it’s a hat…

Jars filled with beans are the classiest weights in the history of ever.

You’ll notice it’s not on the needles; I’ve been doing way too much knitting of late (did I mention I did all of that in the last week and a half, in addition to finishing two socks?) and my hand really hurts. So I made myself take the STARGHAN off the needles completely so I wouldn’t be tempted and I am resolved not to do any knitting until Monday at the earliest.

YOU GUYS I DON’T KNOW IF I’LL MAKE IT.

Ahem. Anyway, it’s coming along nicely. Puckering just a bit, especially in the very center, but hopefully blocking will sort that out; it’s not too severe. Current radius is 13″ with 175 grams worked. I have 1200 grams so that gives…carry the two…a maximum radius for the blue portion of about 34″. I was aiming for 36″ but I suspect it will grow when blocked so we’re right on track. I may even make it a little smaller; the ‘Gate portion itself will add another 1/3 to that, and I really don’t think having a blanket bigger than 8 feet in diameter is practical. Even if it is awesome.

Shown here with cat for, uh, scale. Yeah, we’ll go with that. Rosie, I know it looks like water but I swear it’s not your bathtub!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on 24.8.2012 in Geekery, Knitting

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “The STARGHAN Lives!

  1. mitukagome

    25.8.2012 at 9:04 am

    It looks like Rosie is doing some kind of ritual in a sort of henge. A starhenge.

     
    • Myriad

      25.8.2012 at 1:17 pm

      Oh my, it really does. She’s probably summoned up a demon or something…

       

Leave a Reply

 
