RSS

The Devil is in the Details

30 Aug

I was scanning the front page of the paper this morning, and found this:

Yes, that’s right, folks, somebody in my family has drawn horns and a trident on Paul Ryan. He may be from Wisconsin, but he is most definitely persona non grata in this Wisconsin household. But who is the dastardly defacer? Who has scribbled on this scion of the System? Was it:

a. The uber-liberal daughter who doodles constantly
b. The very liberal mother who tends to doodle while on the phone
c. The liberal son who rarely doodles
d. The moderate father who never doodles

And the answer is….

D. That’s right, folks, the Republican party has gone so far ’round the bend that my father, whom I would classify as moderate-conservative, and who never doodles, is drawing demon horns on their vice presidential candidate. Problems: the GOP has them.

I mostly try to stay out of politics – suffice to say that I’m extremely liberal (born and raised in Madison, WI; it couldn’t be any other way) and the majority of the country frankly terrifies me. Listening to the Republican convention last night made my stomach hurt and my heart pound. I’m going to need a very large glass of beer to get through Mitt Romney’s speech tonight. I would play the safest drinking game in the world*, created by C.D., but I’d like to actually drink some of that beer.

I do have one thing to say to the GOP, just one small piece of advice: Don’t set your candidates against a background that calls to mind the firey depths of hell. Seriously. Not the kind of subliminal message you want to be sending.

—–

*Drink every time you see a person of color at the Republican National Convention. Addendum by Myriad: Gwen Ifill doesn’t count.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on 30.8.2012 in Life

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 responses to “The Devil is in the Details

  1. C.D.

    1.9.2012 at 3:48 pm

    I was at the mall yesterday, and I overheard this conversation about Paul Ryan:

    Woman #1: “Don’t talk to me about Paul Ryan. I KNOW Paul Ryan. I grew up in Janesville. I know him. He hasn’t worked a day in his life. Had everything handed to him. And he flunked out of UW-Whitewater. I mean, with all his advantages – ”

    Woman #2: “And his abortion policy – ”

    Woman #1: “I know! Keep your government out of my uterus!”

    Always nice to hear the woman on the street.

    Also: re: drinking game – they did make an effort to have non-white SPEAKERS, I noticed. But if you were just playing with convention-goers… you weren’t going to get very drunk.

     
    • Myriad

      1.9.2012 at 7:07 pm

      I know, I was playing with convention-goers and got up to four. Actually it was five but I realized that they just kept putting the camera on the same woman so I stopped.

       
      • C.D.

        2.9.2012 at 12:02 pm

        Ouch. I’ve been playing the game – without actual alcohol – when I see videos or pictures of Romney/Ryan campaign events, and I have yet to see ONE. I mean, maybe they’re all hiding out of camera shot? Maybe?

         
  2. Patrick

    17.10.2012 at 12:51 pm

    I have been amused and terrified watching the Republican Presidential effort this year. It seems like the party leadership feels like they have to like Romney and Ryan, while moderates and everyone to the left of them don’t have any such loyalty.

    Also, that story about your dad made me smile.

     

Leave a Reply

 
