RSS

Good Reads: The Silent Empire Quadrilogy by Steven Harper

10 Sep

I’ve been trying to do more reading and less TV-watching, with limited success. But I thought I would share some of my literary pursuits with you all (Hi, FBI!)

I first found the Silent Empire books by Steven Harper in high school. The covers really intrigued me (a common theme in my book selection; they say don’t judge a book by its cover, but I’m extremely sensitive to color and shape).

Of course, the library system only had the first three books, so I never finished the series. But this summer I got the first three from the library again and found a used copy of Offspring on Amazon and got the complete story. And then I found a copy of Nightmare in my local Half Priced Books so I own that as well. Someday I may even get around to procuring copies of the first and third books as well.

Anywho, I’m too lazy to do a real review, but I definitely think these books are worth a read. They follow the story of a group of telepaths who are able to communicate over cosmic distances through the Dream, a sort of psychic reality composed of the minds of every living creature. Of course, evildoers want to destroy the Dream, chaos ensues, bringing with it political machinations, Murder Moste Foul, crises of faith, and the requisite (if unconventional, by SF standards) romantic complications. It’s a good story about interesting people set in a well-drawn world…what more could you want?

Oh, and did I mention that the protagonist is a gay male Australian Aborigine?

The books aren’t perfect – some of the female characters could be a little more fleshed-out, in my opinion – but they are compelling, and interesting, and I really, really want to live on Bellerophon. To find out why, you’ll have to read the books…

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
