RSS

FO: Nuts and Nutkles

10 Oct

Hear ye, hear ye! Here beginneth Ye Holy-Daye Craftes!

Because I am both insane and (apparently) a glutton for punishment, I’ve decided that M., J., and Mitu* get colorwork hats for Ye Holy-Dayes this year. First off the needles is the Gotta Get a Nut Hat by Holly Marie, knit in KP Chroma in New England (discontinued colorway; so glad I got some before it was gone!) and Bittersweet.

Adorable squirrels and acorns are perfect for J., and I think I managed to locate the Chroma well in relation to the Fair Isle motifs. And my stitches were pretty even, even before blocking, which tells me that maybe I can do this colorwork thing after all.

The hat flew by – it only took two days**, including some serious stress-knitting during the presidential debate. Which is why the top is shaped a little funny; I was knitting at a tighter gauge…

But I had tons of yarn left over, so I thought: “Hey, you know what this crazy stranded-knitted-gifts-for-everbody needs? MORE STRANDED-KNITTED-THINGS! And as a bonus, why don’t we improvise the pattern, AND do a bastardized form of intarsia in the round rather than stranding!”

…so then these happened. I made up to mitt pattern as I went (not exactly hard; ribbing, increase a little, BO the thumb) and used the acorn chart from the hat. Of course the mitts were knit in the round on DPNs (squirrely as all hell – no pun intended) but I didn’t want to carry long floats of the CC around the hand. So I decided to do the acorn motif in intarsia, which should be done flat. Because of course I did. Fortunately I can knit backwards, so I was sort of able to fake my way through it. They’re not perfect (and noticeably non-identical), but not bad considering the general insanity of the undertaking.

These two projects were also my first adventures in blocking, and were both a success! Blocking especially helped even out some of the lumpiness in the mitts. Admittedly, there’s not much to blocking a hat or a pair of mitts, but at least it gave me the confidence to (finally!) try blocking the scarves I knitted for my mother and grandmother for Ye Holy-Dayes of last year.

Fear not, there are many more Holy-Daye Crafte adventures to come! For here we be nuts. And squirrels. See what I did there? Just wait till we get to the telepathic snake monster!***

—–

*Shh! Don’t tell! It’s a secret! Which I am magically keeping from the only regular reader of my blog!

**Yes, I know I’m a slow knitter. But I’m a lot faster than I used to be…

***Yes, really.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on 10.10.2012 in Knitting

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 responses to “FO: Nuts and Nutkles

  1. mitukagome

    10.10.2012 at 5:20 pm

    I will never find out.

     
  2. C.D.

    11.10.2012 at 9:04 am

    WHY ARE YOU TRYING TO KEEP THIS FROM THE FBI (your other faithful readers)?
    Are you afraid they can’t handle the awesomeness of the intarsia?
    … okay, they probably can’t. Fair. You are right to keep this from them. If they found out about the awesome intarsia, they’d probably be all “WE MUST STOP LOOKING FOR BAD GUYS AND START KNITTING INSTEAD.”

    Also, you’re making me want to knit fair isle again. Aaaargh. If there’s anything that’s worst for carpal tunnel than knitting, it’s fair isle.

     
    • Myriad

      11.10.2012 at 1:34 pm

      Ack! My crafting has become a threat to national security! Either that or the FBI will concoct new and innovative ways to use knitting to look for/capture bad guys. Which would be kind of awesome.

       

Leave a Reply

 
