RSS

NaNoBlarghMo

04 Nov

I need to finish Ye Damne Novel.

I don’t wanna finish Ye Damne Novel.

Lacking in inspiration for…well, for much of anything, these days, I decided the smartest thing for me to do this year would be to use NaNoWriMo to try to finish up Earth Girl in Exile, the book I started writing last November.

The thing is, over the summer I re-wrote (perhaps more accurately, wrote) the first part of the book (Cat’s exile and transit out of the Solar System), and most of what I wrote last November (her actual life in exile) is in need of some serious rework, which a) is terrifying, considering the amount of rearranging and chopping and cutting and pasting necessary, b) not nearly as exciting as starting a whole new story, and c) really not suited to NaNo.

I have a serious case of general blargh, too, inspired by lack of sunlight and illness and pre-election stress and a whole host of other things, which isn’t helping. I’m not even really inspired to knit or crochet or anything, but I want to be creative. Creative feels good. It’s just that creative is so far from where my brain is right now that it’s really hard.

I also never really had a good, solid plot to begin with for EGE. So I could totally scrap what I’ve got (the exile part, that is) and just start over, except…I have no idea for a better plot.

Godsdamnit all, I used to be creative. I used to have ideas exploding out of my brain and my fingertips. I used to be able to sink into writing and just let the world overtake me. And I love Cat. She is an awesome person in an unusual situation. I just have no idea what to do with her.

Sigh. I need help. Like, majorly, HALP. Or I won’t even make 5k this month, let alone 50k.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on 4.11.2012 in Writing

 

Tags: , , ,

One response to “NaNoBlarghMo

  1. mitukagome

    5.11.2012 at 9:56 am

    You may have to just pick a new novel if you actually want to win this year. I mean, you have been having so much trouble with this last one … it kinda helps to know a basic plot for your novel, and not just the characters and setting.

    If I could help, let me know, but I don’t know how to help you magically come up with a plot. 😦

     

Leave a Reply

 
