RSS

Super Cute Sunday Cuffs (for Steampunk Convention!)

16 Nov

I thought about trying to write this post using only words beginning with ‘S’ and ‘C’, but decided I’m just not that dedicated to the consonance portion of my insanity.

Project Page: Sunday Steam Cuffs
Pattern: Hetty’s Sunday Cuffs by Danelle Sorensen (from Jane Austen Knits Summer 2012)
Yarn: Cascade Yarns Heritage Silk, colorway 5642
Made for: ME! For Teslacon 3 (just two weeks away!!!)

Love these! They were a very quick and easy knit, although I complicated them by trying to do some weird shaping which I ultimately scrapped in favor of (gasp!) following the pattern (almost entirely) as written. Because sometimes I tinker a little too much for my own good. On the other hand, these¬†are for Teslacon, where inappropriate tinkering is…appropriate.

The color is hard to photograph (I feel like I always say that; either my camera really sucks or I need to stop choosing difficult yarn colors.) but I did the best I could. It’s a beautifully intense carnelian color that matches my jewelry and brings a little color to an otherwise brown-and-white outfit… speaking of, I need to hit up the thrift shops to see if I can update my costume a bit. MITU WHERE ARE YOU I NEED SALVO’S.

If I do knit these again (I do have 80% of the skein of yarn left over…hey, I could make socks! Anybody want orange socks?), I’ll probably add a CO/BO picot to each ‘point’ of the lace edge, since they didn’t block as nicely as I wanted, even with some vigorous tugging. That aside…I love these. Really, really love them.

Anybody else headed to Teslacon? Mitu and I will both be there! Unless you’re a crazy internet stalker, in which case, we’ll be in Azerbaijan. Or Burkina Faso. Or Suriname. Or Canada.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on 16.11.2012 in Geekery, Knitting

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Super Cute Sunday Cuffs (for Steampunk Convention!)

  1. C.D.

    16.11.2012 at 6:04 pm

    YOU’LL BE IN CANADA?
    … oh, wait, that was a clever lie. Damn you for bringing my hopes up! And for making me lust after the Cuffs. There’s a book called “Jane Austen knits?”
    WANT

     
    • Myriad

      16.11.2012 at 7:31 pm

      Sorry! I meant…uh…Cambodia? Because the two are so easily confused.

      It’s a magazine, actually. There are three issues so far, each with around thirty patterns…I should probably stop typing, for the sake of your hands/wrists.

      Also I just tried to spell ‘stop’ as ‘stalp’. So I should probably stop typing for the sake of the English language.

       

Leave a Reply

 
