RSS

I Can Control It…

23 Nov

Ever since I pledged to try to read more, I’ve quite happily relapsed into my book-addict ways. Honestly, I don’t think I’m actually reading for an hour each day, but it definitely averages out to at least that. And really, who wants to be on the book sobriety wagon? Not me.

The thing is, I keep seeing new books I want to read, series I want to start, or re-start, or finish, or…

So I’ve got a system, of sorts. I classify books as one of three things – a Hugo, another adult book, or young adult (romance novels also get thrown in here; this is my fluff/easy-reading category). Then I rotate through them, so every third book I read is one for the Hugo Project, every third book is an adult book, every third book is a fluff book. With the adult/fluff books, if I’m going through a series, I try to finish a series before I start adding in other books.

But. But. SO MANY AWESOME BOOKS.

And then I discovered that Goodreads offers giveaways of ARCs and other free copies of books…which naturally has doubled the number of books in my ‘to-read’ list. Still…free books! So many free books!

Just look what arrived in the mail today…

IT’S A SHINY NEW BOOK AND I WON IT AND I GOT BOOKMARKS AND SHINY SWAG AND EVERYTHING.

*hyperventilating*

I WANT TO READ IT RIGHT NOW SO MUCH SHINY PRECIOUS!!!!!

*breathing into paper bag*

Of course, this is the second book in the series, so I can’t start reading it right now because I’m way too compulsive for that. And I have a LIST and a PLAN and I have to read all those other books FIRST. But the first book in the series is on hold at the library…

Sigh. I did restructure my reading plan a bit, so this is now #10 on my list of books-to-read. So if I can read two books a week, I should get to Kept by the end of the year. And Coveted, the first book, is only #7…

Or I could stop being so OCD about my reading, but let’s be honest; that’s not going to happen any time soon. THERE WILL BE ORDER. MY BRAIN DEMANDS IT.

Rosie finds all of this unnecessarily silly; she just wants me to choose a book already and stay in one place for several hours so that she gets her snuggles.

How do you decide what to read next? Do you make yourself organize a queue of books-to-read, or do you just pick up whatever is closest to you?

And, most importantly: What does the cat think of all this words-on-paper nonsense?

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 23.11.2012 in Books, Cats

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
