RSS

Month in Review: January 2013

02 Feb

Oh hey, happy Imbolc (what’s left of it). Life has been kicking my little behind, so it’s two days late, but I have decided to start doing a monthly-review thingy. Onwards!

This month I started private tutoring, which means more money for yarn textbooks! Yes, textbooks. I started school again to get my WI state teaching certification in physics (and eventually my master’s degree in teaching). I had a week or so of angst as I tried to decide which school to attend, but I have settled on E. So I will be staying in lovely, bitterly cold Madtown for the next 16 months at least. Hooray! I’ve also started my practicum assignment, working in physics classrooms in the same school where I work for AVID, which is awesome.

Which reminds me, I need to brag a little. In the senior-level physics class, there are 15 students. 6 of them (40%) are AVID students. Considering that AVID students make up maybe 10% of the student body at this school…YOU GUYS THIS IS SO AWESOME MY KIDS ARE TAKING ADVANCED PHYSICS COURSES THEY ARE GOING TO ROCK IN COLLEGE AND AT LIFE!!!!!!!!!

Less awesome: only 3/15, or 20%, of the class is female. Must bully encourage current female juniors to take MOAR PHYSICS.

—–

I also read a lot! Nine whole books, not counting all the chapters and excerpts I’ve been reading for class. The goal is to read ten books a month, so I’m a little behind, but still doing rather well, all things considered. (Links are to my review, if applicable; otherwise to the Goodreads page)

Awesome:
Jinx by Sage Blackwood (giveaway).
Stranger in a Strange Land
by Robert A. Heinlein (reread).

Great:
Kept by Shawntelle Madison (giveaway).

Good:
The Blending Time by Michael Kinch.
The Golden Leopard by Lynn Kerstan.
Unreliable by Molleen Zwiker (giveaway).

Okay:
The Black Rose by James Bartholomeusz (giveaway).
Eighty Days: Nellie Bly and Elizabeth Bisland’s History-Making Race Around the World by Matthew Goodman (giveaway).

Awful:
Saint Leibowitz and the Wild Horse Woman by Walter M. Miller, Jr. and Terry Bisson.

I’m hoping for a few more in the Awesome/Great categories in Feb., and a few less in the Okay/Awful categories. We’ll see!

—–

Then there was the knitting. I didn’t do a whole lot in terms of complete projects; the Frog Gods were with me this month. I frogged and re-finish my MegaMult shawl, of which I will post pictures once it’s blocked. I also picked up Design #2 again, and have been knitting and frogging and knitting and frogging and hope to maybe actually have it sorted out sometime soon. I did knit a complete pair of truly awesome stripey socks for a swap; pictures to come when I’m motivated enough to find my camera. AND I swatched for a lovely sweater, which will be my dissertation for Tournament 7 of Nerd Wars, and (I hope) my first finished sweater! The last one did not go so well…

On deck for this month are two pairs of birthday socks and an adorable amigurumi tortoise for a prize for the library’s summer reading program. And, you know, all that reading. And maybe going to class and doing schoolwork and work-work and some more private tutoring and that volunteering with the youth theater company and…I’m tired just thinking about it. Bedtime (or, more accurately, curl up with book/movie time) for this sleepy little hedgehog.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
