RSS

FO: Sweet Shepherdess

27 Mar

Project Page: Sweet Shepherdess
Pattern: Sweetheart Bag by Donna Kay (from Jane Austen Knits Fall 2012)
Yarn: Knit Picks Palette in Cream and Lantana
Made for: YSP Silent Auction

I saw this bag in the Fall 2012 Jane Austen Knits (which I bought for this awesome shawl, among other things) and was seized with the urgent need to knit it. Since Ye Olde Theatrical Thingy is having their yearly fundraiser (the centerpiece of which is a silent auction for donated and handmade goods) in a month, I figured that was as good an excuse as any. I guess sometimes you just need to be excessively feminine and vernal – especially with winter hanging on the way it has been…

I’ll admit my tolerance for the fiddlyness of stranded colorwork was pretty much gone by the end, but I do love the final result! I tinkered with the chart just slightly, and definitely like my version better :D. Next time I will probably make the bottom white section smaller, too. I will make this again, in different colors – maybe for me, maybe more for charitable things. Someone on Rav. has made a project bag out of it by knitting it in worsted weight and lining it with fabric; I am tempted… If I were braver, I’d try just straight up felting it, but I am too timid to try felting as of yet.

The name comes from the quite ridiculous number of Sweet Shepherdesses I have portrayed and/or encountered during my time with Ye Olde Theatrical Thingy. In fact, I was a Sweet Shepherdess in my first play with them (Perdita in The Winter’s Tale). So it seemed fitting.

What pretty things have you been making to encourage warmer weather?

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 27.3.2013 in Knitting

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
