RSS

In Like a Lion, Out Like a Slightly Less Vicious Lion

03 Apr

AKA Month in Review: March 2013

March was a special, special month. A month of midterms, performances, and many comings and goings. And stress. Oh so much stress.

It was also a month of firsts! My first drug test! My first panic attack! My first code for the copy machine!

…one of those was decidedly less fun than the others. I’ll let you guess which one.

Frankly, I don’t really want to think about all of it. I’ve got enough chaos to look forward to in April.

I did at least get to have some fun in the end. J. was in town for a bit, and then I went to see Mitu.(and the adorable Nika, who finds me terrifying). Friends are exactly what you need after a month of hell. Note to self: Must see Savitri at least once a week this month. For sanity purposes.

—–

Unsurprisingly, I didn’t get as much reading done as I would have liked. I did finish some of my Ed. books, otherwise this list would be depressingly short. (Links are to my review, if applicable; otherwise to the Goodreads page)

Awesome:
The Wanderer by Fritz Leiber.

Great:
The Healer’s Keep by Victoria Hanley.
Way Station by Clifford D. Simak.

Good:
Diversity Matters: Understanding Diversity in Schools by Lynn Kell Spradlin (school).
For the Love of a Goblin Warrior by Shona Hustk (giveaway).
Managing Your Classroom with Heart: A Guide for Nurturing Adolescent Learners by Katy Ridnouer (giveaway).

On the bright side, none of the books I read were awful, so at least what reading I did manage to do was worth it. Here’s to more prolific reading in April!

—–

Stress may not be good for my reading habits, but it is very good for crafting. I finished up the Pollywog socks and knit a lovely colorwork bag. I also made a pair of completely awesome gloves, which I appear to have lost (curses!) and finished the back of my Camden sweater. And I crocheted a few silly things which I’ll share with you all soon.

This month I need to finish my sweater; that’s the only real priority. I have some amigurumi which I hope to do, but we’ll see. And maybe some summer socks if I get bored.

Ha. Ha. Ha. Bored. I’m not going to have time to be bored. And now I’m off to work and tutoring. Because of course I am. Sigh…

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
