RSS

WisCon Ho!

23 May

You may choose to interpret the title as an amusing paraphrase of Shakespeare’s Twelfth Night, or you may chose to interpret it as a reference to the fact that I get all tingly thinking about a long weekend devoted to science fiction and social justice. Either option is equally valid.

Anyway, WisCon starts tomorrow! Technically, there was a reading at A Room of One’s Own tonight, but I’m feeling emo and sedentary so I didn’t go. The Opening Ceremonies aren’t until tomorrow, anyway (and I’m totally ducking out of work early to go knit at the Gathering and put in a volunteer shift).

Even more exciting…SAVITRI IS COMING TOO!! Probably not tomorrow, but she and I will geek together Saturday and Sunday. A lot. A helpful infographic, for those who don’t understand the amazingness that is WisCon:

Information.

Will I be conscious by the time Monday evening rolls around? Who cares!? I’M SO EXCITED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This is my reward for surviving my first semester of grad school…even though I think I will have to duck in and out to do some directing at Ye Olde Theatrical Bedlam. Oh well. I am hiding from the world (read: school, work, other work, work-I-don’t-get-paid-for, family, housework) as much as humanly possible this weekend and it will be GLORIOUS.

Haven’t decided which panels I’m going to yet (and, let’s be honest, I’ll probably be making most of those decisions spur-of-the-moment) but I will be at the Gathering, the Opening Ceremonies, the Tiptree Auction, and the Genderfloomp! party. If you will be there too, let me know and we’ll arrange some super-secret signal to find each other.

Also, the awesome Space Girl/Space Babe fan video, set to the equally awesome “Space Girl” by The Imagined Village:

Things will no doubt be rather silent around here for the next little bit as I a) enjoy WisCon, b) recover from WisCon, and c) start dealing with Real Life again, but I’ll try to keep the posts coming. The Hugo Project will continue. The crafting will continue. And since I will be without C.D. aka the Feminist Batwoman this year (waahhhhhh!), I suppose I’ll actually have to do a proper con report…

 
 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “WisCon Ho!

  1. Jesse the K

    30.5.2013 at 4:49 pm

    Who gets the credit for that awesome infographic?

     
    • Myriad

      30.5.2013 at 9:51 pm

      That would be me, actually đŸ™‚ I drew it about halfway through WisCon last year (my first!!) when I realized I would need to explain to my muggle friends why I was incapable of functioning on Tuesday…

       

Leave a Reply

 
