RSS

THP Supplemental: We’re Dune!

17 Jun

Ohhhhh, bad pun. I am my father’s daughter, after all.

HugoProjext

I think the Hugo Project has been at this rest-stop long enough.

We read Dune.
We watched the 1984 film adaptation.
We read Dune Messiah and Children of Dune.
We watched Frank Herbert’s Dune and Frank Herbert’s Children of Dune.

I did actually make it through God-Emperor of Dune; in fact, I liked it more than I liked Messiah or Children, probably because the fact that Leto became (literally) monstrous made me more free to dislike him. Well, not more free – I’m free to like or dislike any characters I damn well want to. But it felt less like I was expected to pity him…so I was actually more likely to do so. If that makes sense.

Of course, I’m still annoyed with many things, among them being: Why does nobody ever question Leto’s right to make these decisions for all of humanity? They rebel against him because he’s cruel, he spends all this time journalling to justify himself to some unknown entity, but as far as I can tell, none of his contemporaries at any point says, “hang on – what gave you the right to do this?”

And, of course, Herbert ups the ante on the PROBLEMS of PROBLEMNESS – Hwi and the Duncans and the Fish Speakers and apparently homosexuality is sadomasochistic now? And don’t even get me started on the JAZZ HANDS OF GENDER ESSENTIALISM (.gif to come).

Anyway, while I am still curious as to where the Golden Path is leading, I really don’t have it in me to tackle another four books (and at least one thousand-plus year time jump) right now. So, instead, we will bid a fond(ish) farwell to Arrakis in the old Fremen tradition: silly and strange graphics! With some shirtless men thrown in because haven’t you been paying attention?

And, one last time…Sting, circa 1984, wearing naught but a metal bikini and an ungodsly amount of body oil.

If nothing else, we can thank Herbert for giving us that.

—–

Join us next week as we get back to our trek through sixty-odd years of speculative fiction, social justice, and snark! We’ve got another date to keep with Bobby Heinlein…can’t wait to see what the old boy has in store for us this time…

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 17.6.2013 in Books, Geekery

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
