RSS

FO: Secession Socks

10 Jan

Project Page: Secession Socks
Pattern: Art Nouveau Drazi Socks by Spirit Fox
Yarn: Regia Mosaik Color in unknown colorway and Knit Picks Stroll in Aurora Heather
Made for: Mom’s birthday

I fell in love with the Regia yarn at a LYS and knew I had to knit with it…but also knew it was a bit much on its own. Fortunately I’d also been wanting an excuse to support fellow Ranger SpiritFox and knit her Drazi socks…they were an excellent match! The little stranded windows on the pattern tone down the Mosaik just enough to make it look semi-adult.

I made a lot of modifications to this pattern, partly so I could knit them toe-up, partly because I was confused by the colorwork on the sole of the original pattern, and partly because, you know, I’m me. Following patterns is not exactly my strong suit. The details can be found on the project page.

Of course I ended up modifying them too much and they ended up too small for Mom so now they are mine. Oops. On the other hand, she’s inherited a pair that wound up too big for me so I guess we’re even? Why am I so bad at making things the right size???

Oh well. Pretty colors hooray?

Am I the only one with chronic sizing issues? How do you deal with knitting socks for other people? Let me know!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on 10.1.2014 in Knitting

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “FO: Secession Socks

  1. Autumn Shuler

    14.1.2014 at 10:04 am

    Beautiful socks! Unfortunately, I have no advice for making things the correct size other than ripping back. I’m not so good at that either.

    Just out of curiosity, why make them toe-up? Do you prefer to make socks toe-up in general? I’ve never done it, but I’m interested to hear from people on why they like it.

     
    • Myriad

      15.1.2014 at 11:47 am

      I find I (generally) get a better fit when I do them toe-up – being able to tug against the closed toe while trying them on helps me judge the right amount of negative ease.

      Of course, when I’m making socks for somebody besides me, I just sort of have to guess…

       

Leave a Reply

 
