RSS

FO: Midnight Traveler

04 Apr

Project Page: Midnight Traveler
Pattern: Traveler by Janel Laidman (from The Enchanted Sole)
Yarn: Kangaroo Dyer Franklin Hand Dyed in Midnight
Made for: J’s Birthday

These socks have pockets. Which I think we can all agree is pretty damn awesome, even if they were hell to knit. They also look infinitely better on a leg than lying flat (as most socks do, and in fact should), but photographing your own feet is teh difficulties so the pics are kind of crap. Also I was dealing with winter sunlight.

Anyway, made a ton of mods to these, most of which aren’t really noticeable other than the fact that I omitted the beads and, as per usual, completely ignored the heel instructions in favor of a heel I find gives a better fit. The yarn and the pattern weren’t the best match, since the cables get a little lost in the striping, but it’s not too bad. The yarn is actually quite pretty and the pooling doesn’t bother me nearly as much as it usually does (go figure).

Also, I’m in love with the buttons. They’re like little spiky ship’s wheels and they’re shiny and gorgeous and I have one left over that I’m now saving for something special because itssoprettyyouguise!

I’m fairly new to embellishing my knitting – what are your favorite add-ons? Buttons, beads, ribbons, embroidery? I’d love to see pictures!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 4.4.2014 in Knitting

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
