RSS

FO: Trigonometry

09 May

Project Page: Trigonometry
Pattern: 22.5 Degrees by Martina Behm
Yarn: Done Roving Yarns Frolicking Feet in Blue Jeans
Made for: Mrs. S

I-need-a-thank-you-gift-for-my-math-cooperating-teacher + garter-stitch-is-vital-to-my-sanity + ooh-pretty-scallops = this shawl/scarf thing.

I started out with a different yarn – Three Irish Girls Adorn in Bread and Butterflies – but the result looked like the Easter Bunny had thrown up. Which would be fine for some people, but I didn’t think the recipient would actually wear it, so a-frogging I went. I’m happier with the Blue Jeans, although it’s a little dark. As per usual, the yarn was impossible to photograph well, and my limited photo-retouching skills could only do so much to bring out the intermediate shades. There’s a lot more green and gold than I could get to show.

I do love the scallop technique used here, although I think if I use it again I might try binding off purlwise to see how that changes the edging. It definitely shows off the yarn well, especially all of the short bursts of color.

I actually followed the pattern for this one (gasp!), though I did have to make it a little smaller based on my yardage and gauge. The only significant change I made was to make the center scallop a little bigger than written in the pattern. There’s actually an error in the instructions there; for more info see my project page.

It really is prettier in person. I feel like a broken record saying that – does anybody have any tips and tricks for getting good photographs of beautiful yarn?

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 9.5.2014 in Knitting

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
