RSS

Attack of the UFOs!

10 Jan

… I have a lot of unfinished knitting and crochet projects floating about. I finally managed to get them all in one city and decided that maybe I should take stock of things and figure out just how out of hand my UFOs were. As it turns out, I have enough of them to invade a small planet, or at least the state of Wyoming.

And just how many is that, you may ask? Well…

(Photos include whatever yarn is currently attached to the project but do NOT include additional skeins. The date listed is the month and year I started the project.)

1. Mistress Mary’s Garish Garden – blanket, crochet, Oct 2011

2. Celestial Soda Pop – blanket, crochet, Nov 2011

4. Worsel of Velantia III – amigurumi, crochet, Oct 2012

5. Frozen Fishguard – socks, knit, Dec 2012

6. College Camden – sweater, knit, Feb 2013

7. Sternwartesocks mitts, knit, April 2013

8. Afternoon Spice Tea – wrap, knit, June 2013

9. Kensington – mitts, knit, July 2013

10. Sanity Shift, blanket, knit, Jan 2014

11. Deep Sea Doric-ish, sweater, knit, Feb 2014

12. Chessie the Cat, amigurumi, knit, Feb 2014

13. untitled, mitts or gloves, knit, Oct 2014

14. Toddler Tubies, socks, knit, Nov 2014

15. Kelpie Wrap, shawl, knit, Dec 2014

 3. STARGHAN, blanket, knit, June 2012 (yes, it deserves its own post, even if it is out of order)

So…fifteen. Fifteen WIPs. Well, what better way to start 2k15?

Yeah, okay, I might have a little bit of a problem.

For those of you playing along at home, I have:

  • 12 knit UFOs
  • 3 crochet UFOs
  • 4 blankets
  • 3 mitts/gloves
  • 2 sweaters
  • 2 amigurumi
  • 2 wraps/shawls
  • 2 socks
  • 2 UFOs from 2011
  • 3 UFOs from 2012
  • 4 UFOs from 2013
  • 6 UFOs from 2014

2014 was an especially bad year for project completion; of 11 projects started that year, I only completed 5. Apparently that’s what full time student-teaching/teaching-teaching will do to your productivity.

HOWEVER.

I would really like to start 2016 with fewer than 16 WIPs. Really, fewer than 10. I’d definitely like to finish those two charity blankets from 2011. So I have made a rule for myself this year:

I MAY NOT CAST ON A NEW PROJECT UNTIL I HAVE:
1. Completely finished (including blocking, photographing, etc.) at least one WIP

2. Put in some serious time on one or more of the bigger WIPs (#1, 2, 3, 8, 10)

#2 is a bit of a problem since most of my scrap stash is at school for our charity knitting project, which limits my ability to work on #1 & #2, but I will do my best.

Hopefully I can stick to this and get that pile of unfinished fibercraft down to a more manageable size!

—–

What are your crafting goals for 2015?

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 10.1.2015 in Crafts, Knitting

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
